Does a little dirt really hurt?

Ok–finally I have a chance to sit! We had a busy morning today, trying to get ready and leave the house by 9am. I wanted to take Journey to a drop in dance class in Brentwood and while we were there I did a little work dropping off copies of the Canyon News and collecting business cards. It was a really cute class and Journey and Faith both enjoyed themselves. Another plus is that it was only $10! When we first arrived at the studio I had to use the restroom and of course they came with me. After I had flushed the toilet Faith began clapping happily for me–and it kind of made me feel like I did accomplish something! HA I went potty! lol

You know I had heard on Montel a while ago the benefits of lending a helping hand to someone. It makes you feel good when you help someone, and even though I am used to traveling around with two kids and a double long trailer (stroller) it always makes me feel a little more relaxed when someone lends a helping hand to me. I usually don’t notice the kind gestures being offered because I am so used to doing it all. So, it was a good end to our outing when we finished eating our cupcakes and made it to the street crosswalk right when the light turned and then the bus was practically waiting for us and the driver didn’t make me fold up the stroller! Perfect!

Well, on to the topic I really want to talk about. Dirt. Some of us love it and some of us hate it. Me; I don’t mind either way. Since I was little I’ve had a little tomboy in me and now that I’m a Mom I like to let Journey and Faith explore their world however they want. Since we live in sunny California we are at the park almost everyday and usually outside at least 80% of the day. I always watch in amazement at some of the kids I see at the park so clean and dirt free! I always wonder where I could buy the bubble that they keep themselves in because my girls are usually grubby. They both like to play in the water and roll around in the sand. Keeping track of two grubby girls is hard–I can never keep them clean,but then again it doesn’t bother me.

It reminds me of a little rhyme my cousins and I would say to each other while making mud pies. “God made dirt and dirt don’t hurt so put it in your mouth and let it work!” Some dirt really doesn’t hurt. I read a few articles saying that some pregnant women crave dirt–and some women in third world countries actually eat certain types of dirt and clay for the nutrients. It is also true that exposing yourself to dirt can help boost immunity. It is called the “hygiene hypothesis,” children raised in rural areas, especially on farms, have fewer allergies and autoimmune diseases than children raised in cities — some researchers believe exposure to soil and other environmental impurities is the reason.

Christopher Wanjek from www.livescience.com said that,
 “The rising incidence of asthma and allergies in the developed (cleaner) world, doctors say, could be tied to the relatively sterile environments our children live in compared to a generation ago. Children not exposed to harmful bacteria, or conversely, given antibiotics to kill bacteria, do not receive the germ workout required to make antibodies. More specifically, they do not develop T-helper cells, which fight foreign cellular invaders and minimize allergies.

Living in a sterile world with a two and one year old isn’t possible, but even with all the freedom I give them they have never been sickly kids. We do wash our hands, but I am not a Purell freak or anything. I don’t believe in using anitbacterial anything. The marketing of antibacterial products during flu and cold season is a scam, because colds and flu are caused by viruses, not bacteria. Most bacterial infections in the United States are food-borne: salmonella, listeria, and E. coli.

Speaking of Purell freaks…I overheard a couple of Mom’s at the park talking about how gross the public restrooms were and how they slather the Purell all over thier kids! Well, in my opinion and that’s all it is-my opinion, that is just a little too much. They woman had a little boy and I thought what did he have to touch? Don’t boys just point and shoot? HA!

Well, I can tolerate Journey and Faith eating a little sand or dirt every once in a while, but yesterday I caught Faith putting a snail in her mouth! I actually screamed and I was so grossed out! EWWW! She thought it was funny, but the consumption of slimy bugs is not cool. That’s where I draw the line! lol

So, just keep in mind that really a little dirt doesn’t hurt and just simple handwashing will keep those germs away.

Proper hand washing with soap and water.
Follow these instructions for washing with soap and water:
Wet your hands with warm, running water and apply liquid soap or use clean bar soap. Lather well.

Rub your hands vigorously together for at least 15 to 20 seconds.

Scrub all surfaces, including the backs of your hands, wrists, between your fingers and under your fingernails.

Rinse well.

Dry your hands with a clean or disposable towel. 

Use a towel to turn off the faucet.

Also, before I go I want to know if anyone knows where I can get one of those bubbles  that keep kids clean at the park?!

Take Care! Kalisha

Leave a Reply

