I’m grateful; are you?

What do you get when you have a sick 6 month old, 2 year old and a 4 year old who fell a sleep at 6 pm?  Are you drawing a blank? Total chaos at 3 in the morning. To say the least, it has been an interesting 12 hours in the Ruff house hold.  The kids are sick, the little girl I watch is sick; I need some patience (if anyone has any to spare please send me some 🙂 ).   So I will finish this post when I get a little down time this morning.

 

Okay finally I can write a little bit.  I’ve made all the kids a sick bed and they are watching veggie tales.

Lately I’ve been thinking how truly blessed I am to have my family.  Its so easy to get caught up in the day-to-day stresses of life that I forget how good I have it.  First and foremost, I’m alive and healthy.  Just the fact that I can get up in the morning and walk is great. My children, of course, is another blessing.  Today, especially since they are whinny and sick, I am going to truly enjoy them.  There are so many couples who can’t even have children, so I appreciate just the simple fact that they are here.  Individually they have their own personality that allows me to appreciate them for being them.  Kaleah is such the lil’ momma. She is always holding her little brother, and helping her sister go to the potty.  Kiara is just comedy on two legs.  Everything that comes out of that little 2 year old mouth is just too funny.  And DJ is just starting to crawl!  It is so exciting to see the kids get older. So, even though at times I feel like I need calgon and a wine bottle, I am so grateful for my kids; they are all  healthy and wonderful.

That leads me to Duan.  I’ve been focusing on him this week.  It is not hard to get caught in a rut with your husband.  He’s not perfect but he will go to the ends of the earth and back for me and the kids.  That is why I love him so much.  I enjoy making him happy and reap the benefits when he is.  There are so many moms who due to circumstance that are raising children by themselves. I can’t fathom how hard that must be, to not have the support Duan gives me.  I am not saying, by any means, that women cannot, or should not raise their children alone. But there is a need for a father in every child’s life and I am thankful that my children have their father actively in theirs.

Basically I don’t have a perfect life, but I have a good one.  A wonderful husband, beautiful children and a best friend who is more like a sister (love ya Kalish 🙂 ).

Today spend sometime reflecting on all your blessings.  Truly appreciate what you have and let the people in your life know how much they mean to you. Everyday think about what you can do create a blessing to everyone you come in contact with.  It can be a simple smile that will change the course of a strangers day.

But don’t forget your self!!!  Take time to acknowledge everything you accomplished.  Stop worrying about what you didn’t get done, trust me, it will get done. Instead give yourself time to relax and drink some coffee, tea or even you favorite cocktail, while you curl up with a good book.  If your not into books grab a big bowl of ice cream and watch you favorite show after you put you kids down tonight.  Whatever you do spend plan time for yourself to breath and enjoy what you are grateful for.

Have a wonderful day and enjoy all your blessings!!!

Much Love, Reneca

Leave a Reply

