Turning over a new leaf

This morning has been so leasurely.  The girls are with grandma and grandpa, and DJ is sleeping.  Nia, the little girl I watch during the week, is the only munchkin around.  Its funny how with three kids if one of them is gone you feel like a load has been lifted, but with two gone… its almost heaven! 🙂  It was nice to be able to do the morning deal without interuption.

Anyways, on Tuesday I made a decision to turn over a new leaf.  Tuesday usually ends up being the day that I do like a million loads of laundry. These is a feat that many moms do, but they also do two important things afterwards…they fold and put the clothes away. I don’t know what it is, maybe I have some repressed memory about being trapped in a pile of clean clothes, but I DO NOT like folding clothes.  So instead, for some reason I decide to do each load and put them on the couch downstairs (we don’t really use that couch). “Come on Reneca… why would you do that????!!”  So the pile would get bigger through out the day and come evening when I had one less child (Nia); I would go to the clothes with full intention to fold them all and SCREAM!  

To say the least, doing things this way was not helpful at all.  The clothes would sit there the through the next day, and which would turn into the next day and then the next.  I would always have every intention to fold them and put them away, but there would always be (in my mind) something more important to do. This all changed on Tuesday.  I made a decision to actuallymake change.  Since I already had a cleaning schedule, which for one reason or another had been tossed to the side, I pulled it out and looked at the days I planned to wash clothes.  Every day I would do a load of laundry.  One day was white clothes, two days for washing darks, a day for DJs clothes, one for the girls, and another for towels and sheets.  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see how much easier life would be to actually stick to this schedule. 

With my new afirmation…  “I can do laundry! Folding clothes is fun!”, I folded an put a way the rest of the clothes from the week before. Then I played catch up washing Monday’s load.  After each load I folded then and put them a way.  But I took it one step further.  I ironed all the clothes that needed to be hung up. I had never done that before, but it has already made a huge difference.  Duan hasn’t had to iron, making his day a little easier; and the getting the girls ready has gone so much smoother. 

I called my mother in-law and told her “I turned over a new leaf!”.  For me it was a huge leaf.  It just goes to show that when you make a plan and stick with it (remeber fail to plan, plan to fail) you will be less stressed and bogged down with work from the previous day that didn’t done.  I”ll let you all know how my laundry adventure goes.

Much love, Reneca

Leave a Reply

