Today is a new day!

Today I woke up and felt wonderful! I had an epiphany:  You are the only one in control of your emotions!  My dad told this to me when I was a teenager and this really holds true to my life now.  I’ve been allowing people in my life to control how I feel as a mother and as a person.  In the long run it doesn’t matter what anyone thinks/feels about what I do in my life (truly it never has or ever will).  We as people always want to be accepted, because of this we put way to much weight on other’s opinions.  In reality, there are only a few people in you life whose opinions should be considered.  This would be those of your husband/significant other and your children.  Not your mother, father, sister, brother or any other relative or friend for that matter.  I know this might seem extreme.  But ask yourself this question:  Are they thinking of you when they make their decisions?  Majority of the time, the answer is no. 

I have placed expectations on many people in my life which have been a huge source of disappointment for me.   Just like I am the sole controller of my emotions, and actions, they are for themselves.  With that said, I can’t very well place expectations on them. They are living their life and I have no control over what they do.  The choices they make are for what they feel is best for them, which may or may not be in alignment with what I had envisioned. This does mean that their decisions are bad; it just means it’s not what I hoped for.  It’s hard to extract these expectations that I have set in my mind. But if I’m living each moment for what it is than can I really be disappointed?

Life is meant to be celebrated.  Surround yourself with people who want to truly be happy.  Negativity only breads more negativity.  Unfortunately if you want to be happy you need to limit the impact the negative people have in your life.  We all know someone who always finds that one negative aspect in a situation, by passing the tons of positive possibilities.  Do what you need to exclude this negativity from your life. You may need to spend less time with this person.  (This sucks but it may be what needs to happen). 

Can you imagine life surrounded with people who are enjoying life and want you to enjoy life as much as they do?  That is what I’m going to produce in my life.  Today is a new day and I can create situation I want with action.  How freeing that statement is, I am not fixed in one situation for any longer than I want to be. 

If there is something you don’t like that is going in your life, change it.  If change is not possible right now, than see the positive side of the situation and put the steps in place so you can eventually change it. 

*Today is a new day, so create the day you want to have!*

Much Love, Reneca

 

 

2 Responses

  1. I whole heartedly agree! Just reading your post I could feel the positive energy emanating from it.

    It is true that we all want to be accepted…but when we focus so much on what others think of us, how they feel about us, if they accept us, all that energy goes away from ourselves. The FIRST person that must accept you is YOU. If that’s not the case, there’s bigger problems than what the Jones’ think about you.

    Though our emotions are very powerful, so is our mind. And what is our mind? I always think of a great quote from a terrible TV show, it referred to the brain as “wires in a box.”

    If we are not feeling the way we want to, simply tweak that wire. The rest will follow.

  2. I agree. Not letting other people effect my emotions is a challenge for me. I have been working on that. My husband is so good at it naturally… he just doesn’t let things bother him, meanwhile I might get mad and harp. Then I wonder, why do I do that? It’s like a habit….a really bad habit. Just like thinking patterns are habits too…. and they can be changed!

Leave a Reply

