My thoughts today…

Yesterday, it seemed like at every moment Journey and Faith were in sisterly harmony. There were moments where they both played peacefully together, neither one snatching toys or being selfish. Moments when Journey would playfully grab Faith’s cheeks, smile and say “chunky one!” Which would cause Faith to laugh out loud. There was also a moment that through my guidance at the park they shared with each other someone else’s toys! These are moments that I love to see. They are always pretty much sweet to each other. I think I noticed it more today because I had more patience and I was feeling much better.  When I was sick over the weekend it was hard for me to give them my full attention because I was so under the weather. I was grumpy, impatient and irritable.  But yesterday with my patience and energy was back I really appreciated the work I had put in to Motherhood.

I haven’t been giving myself enough credit. Has this happened to you? Sometimes as Mom’s we have this ideal of what perfect motherhood should look like, we compare ourselves to other moms, we compare ourselves to our Mother’s. When other people don’t matter. I guage my success at Motherhood by the happiness and love that I see my daughters express. What really matters is that my girls are happy, loving, affectionate, respectful and intelligent.

What will always matter is what will make Journey and Faith happy. What made Faith happy yesterday was that I let her plop down out of the chair 6 times to come toddling back to me with a different book each time. We even read a couple books twice! What made Journey happy today was that I let her play in the pool before bedtime and we went and got strawberry milkshakes (and she ate the cherry first!). I want that to be what my love means to them. I want them to be happy and to know that my love is always unconditional.

My love isn’t about the money I spend on them. My worth as a Mom doesn’t depend on the “gym classes”, “music classes”, or “art classes” that they belong to. I have decided to give myself credit and realize that I am a good Mom. I have restructured my household duties so that I spend the majority of my day just focused on them and our activities. I have learned how to entertain them without the material things. They have been shown so much unconditional love….and my girls are happy. I am a good Mom.

I found a list of Child Commandments and I will list all of them but one because I don’t agree with it. It is the one about going to church in order to learn about God. I don’t think that someone needs to go to a building to learn about God or be “Godly.” But that is another post 😉 Reading these made me look at my Mothering different. It brought up some really simple points. Our children just crave the simplicity of life, not all the hoopla. Just our love, patience and time.

My hands are small; please don’t expect perfection whenever I make a bed, draw a picture or throw a ball. My legs are short; please slow down so that I can catch up with you.

My eyes have not seen the world as yours have; please let me explore safely. Don’t restrict me unnecessarily.

Housework will always be there. I’m little for only a short time – please take time to explain things to me about this wonderful world, and do so willingly.

My feelings are tender; please be sensitive to my needs. Don’t nag me all day long. (You wouldn’t want to be nagged for your inquisitiveness.) Treat me as you would like to be treated.

I am a special gift from God; please treasure me as God intended you to do, holding me accountable for my actions, giving me guidelines to live by and disciplining me in a loving manner.

I need your encouragement to grow. Please go easy on the criticism; remember, you can criticize the things I do without criticizing me.

Please give me the freedom to make decisions concerning myself. Permit me to fail so that I can learn from my mistakes. Then someday I’ll be prepared to make the kind of decisions life requires of me.

Please don’t do things over for me. Somehow that makes me feel that my efforts didn’t quite measure up to your expectations. I know it’s hard, but please don’t try to compare me with my brothers and sisters.

Being a Mom is a lot of hardwork. We should give ourselves credit for the work we put in, but don’t get lazy on the job either. Raising a child takes a lot of time, patience and love. If you are giving one hundred percent of all of those things then you will see the reward staring you in the face every morning for the rest of your life (hopefully for only the next 18-20 years–they gotta move out sometime!). I am a good Mom. My proof is in my two sweet, loving, caring, funny, happy girls!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

