Don’t Wait

 

How often do we tell ourselves, “I’ll do it tomorrow?”  We get so “busy” that put off so many things till the next day.  Its crazy to think about how many modern conveniences we have now and still we don’t have enough time to do things.  We have more two income families, and more divorces. There are tons of new food choices, but less nutrition. There is way too much time spent watching TV, and not enough time spent with love ones.  We now have so many avenues to get in touch with people, but are communicating less.  Why is that we caught in this paradox, not really valuing each moment as if it were our last?

 I’ve found myself putting so many things off until tomorrow or next week. I’m not just referring to chores and errands, but actually connecting with friends and family.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told myself I would call a friend or family member tomorrow, and wouldn’t. Relationships have been strained, Friendships lost.

One relationship I have sadly put off is one with my aunt. She was diagnosed with breast cancer about 4 years ago. With successful treatment she was in remission for nearly 3 years.  Earlier this year they found another lump and it was cancerous.  It was reoccurringmeaning it was the same cancer that was there before.  She has been living day to day for the past 6 months.  Tuesday morning my other aunt tried to wake her and she was unresponsive.  They rushed her to the hospital, where they found out she had a cerebral stroke.  She is now paralyzed on her left side and is unable to speak. 

I only tell you this so you will appreciate every opportunity you have to reach out to your loved ones.  Don’t wait until it is too late to tell them you love them.  Don’t wait to spend time with your family and friends.  Give your kids and husband the attention they need and deserve.  I really wish I could have spent more time with my aunt, building a stronger relationship.  I can only focus on the present moment.  In reality all we really have is this very moment. 

So please, hug and kiss your child a little longer.  Call your husband and tell them how much you love them and appreciate them. Reach out to that family member or friend you have been meaning to but just haven’t had the time.  Don’t wait until its too late.

Have a wonderful day and enjoy your loved ones!!! 

Much Love, Reneca

Breast Cancer Links:

Here are some great sites I found with lots of information and support if you or someone you love is dealing with breast cancer.

www.breastcancer.org

www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/types/breast

www.thebreastcancersite.com/

www.nationalbreastcancer.org/

www.mayoclinic.com/health/breastcancer/DS00328

Leave a Reply

