Tackle it Tuesday…Don’t Quit

Even though I have a million chores and clutter to tackle today my struggle has actually been with having strength and persevering through daily life. Now don’t get me wrong–I don’t have any complaints. I have a wonderful house to live in with beautiful landscaping, amazing weather everyday, an incredible family and I know Brett will work hard to provide the necessities for us. The problem I am having is with our situation of being car-less. It has been almost a full year that we have not had a car. Luckily, we live in a very walkable area. Within a couple miles radius there are grocery stores, drug stores and parks.

I remember when we first lost our cars I was indifferent. I cared, but realized that there were bigger things to worry about. I had just had a newborn, Journey was a small toddler, Brett was battling depression and I had to fight off bill collectors. It was a tough time, but I had to have the strength of a Mother to get my family through it. So, we (the girls and I) learned to ride the bus and continued life. Brett to this day has never once ridden on the bus and needless to say has worn through two pairs of flip flops insisting on not wearing his walking shoes. Crazy!

Well, then the time came that we needed groceries. And not just little bits here and there, but a stock up. Brett said, “Load ’em up in the trailer.” That is what he calls the Graco double stroller. I was a little shocked. I had never done that and I didn’t know what to do. So, I wrapped Faith up in the sling and loaded Journey in the stroller and we walked to our Vons.

After we finished grocery shopping and as we were checking out the bagger asked me a question that has started to wear on my nerves as the months have turned into a year, “Would you like help out to your car?” I have always responded with a polite, “No, thank you.” But I always dread that question. What I really want to say is,”No! I don’t have a car for your information. Why do you keep asking me every freakin week when you see me come in with a stroller and leave with my groceries in my stroller! You know what I really need help with is pushing the dang thing home with two toddlers!” But I always say, “No, thank you.”

So, the last time that we went grocery shopping everything went fine up until the walk home. Faith had a meltdown halfway home (teething pain). Journey kept trying to open things. The stroller was so heavy and I was sweating so much. In the beginning I had a hard time getting the stroller back home and we would take the little mini bus. But sometimes the drivers wouldn’t let me get on with it and eventually I just built up stamina and strength to get it home. Just that day wasn’t my day. I was feeling really overwhelmed and all I kept thinking as I was walking home was that I was sooo tired of this.

We finally made it home and I was on the verge of tears. I had no patience for the girls and none for Brett either. I know he is working on getting us a car, but in the mean time I need strength. I feel like all my strength has been slowly sucked out of me. I’m just exhausted from trying to be the strong woman. I don’t ever complain and I try to have a bright outlook on things. I know this situation won’t last forever, but it has been a long hard road (literally).

To help me find more strength I found an amazing poem that I wanted to share:

Don’t Quit!

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low, and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
when he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow,
You may succeed with another blow.

Success is failure turned inside out,
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far;
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit,
It’s when things seem worst, that
You Must Not Quit.

C. W. Longenecker

My tackle for Tackle it Tuesday hosted by 5minutesformom is to not quit! I have so many things to be thankful for. Through my struggles I have learned how to budget my money better, how to shop efficiently because only a certain amount will fit in the bottom of my stroller, it helped me to get back into shape, and not having a car means we haven’t contributed to ozone pollution or had to pay $5 a gallon for gas. And when I feel discouraged then I will just read this poem and keep fighting.

Here are some pics of how the groceries get back to my house. I also am so thankful for this stroller. I bought it off of craigslist for $50 and it has been so durable and a blessing. Kind of funny to think of my stroller as being a blessing, but it has been. (Ok ending my post now–sorry for being so long winded!)

Pictures: Faith driving the trailer!

Full shot of how much I packed into it…

Until next time! Kalisha

 

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

 

One more thing!!! We need a makeover and there is a incredible contest going on at Casual Friday Everyday! The winner will recieve a blog makeover worth $143 by Heather from girlyblogdesigns.com!

10 Responses

  1. You go girl! I am so proud of you! I was just thinking I needed to start biking to the grocery store (we have a bike trailer), instead of driving our gas guzzling suburban 2 miles to the store. Now I just need to get in shape. Think of all the wonderful lessons your girls are learning by you making these sacrifices for your family. You are truly an inspiration to me!
    Toni

  2. Thank you for your kind words!

  3. These are really great words.

  4. Wow! And I thought I hated grocery shopping…I will never complain again. You deserve major props! That poem you posted is inspiring. I have read it several times and even had it posted on my refrigerator at one time.

    It sounds like you’ve had a tough year. I hope things get better for you soon. Just a thought – but do you have a friend you could do your grocery shopping with and you two could ride together? I know that if I had a friend who was in your situation, I’d be happy to help with something like that. Maybe a grocery shopping girls’ night out?

    Thanks for sharing your inspiring “tackle” today.

  5. You inspire me. You have done so well to show your husband and kids such strength. I hope you can preserver. It will get better.

  6. We all have been there at one point or two in our lives. It reminds me of Job in the Bible.
    You could invest in a garden wagon. They’re a little bigger then a child’s wagon but have high racks.

  7. Don’t forget the insurance you are saving on.

  8. Thanks for the suggestion…I’ve never seen a garden wagon, I’ll look into it. I know that this isn’t permanent, but it is good to know that we don’t actually need a car and we can survive. Santa Monica has great buses and good weather so we can walk everywhere. When we do get another car I won’t be in a hurry to use it all the time either.
    Kalisha

  9. That sounds very difficult, but I’m glad to hear that you’re reaching out for support to persevere! Someday, you will look back on these trials and see a time that helped you grow…

  10. You are so inspiring. I was really enjoy reading your blog. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

