I want to believe…

A dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep.” Cinderella

In “Other” Words Tuesday

 

This weekend Journey and I rented the movie Enchanted and watched it like 4 times! It was such an adorable and happy movie. Ever since last Thursday Journey has only wanted to wear something “dress-up” with her ballet slippers and princess crown. Yesterday we had a meltdown diva moment when she wanted to change into her “pink one” on our way to the park. At times it has driven me a little crazy because it is dang near impossible for her to go potty on her own with her “dress-up” on and that dang crown never stays where she wants it so she is always crying for me to “fix it, please!” But needless to say I enjoy seeing her make-believe. It gives me encouragement to see the beauty and love in life. In the movie Enchanted they refer to our world as the place of no happily ever afters. The princess comes into our world and sees the bitterness, discrouragement and lack of love that people here have for each other. The princess always finds joy in simple things, shows her love unconditionally and always believes in happiness (happily ever after).

CrabbyMommy at MommyRage had talked about how fairytales are a little too grim and sad. Too sad for her daughter to understand. There are always two sides though. “Bad things” do happen, but it is how we handle them and our attitude on life that affects the outcome. Ever princess in a fairytale always shows her love, is never discouraged and knows in her heart that happiness awaits her. They live truly romantic lives and whose to say that we can’t live that way just because we aren’t little cartoon girls with long flowing hair? I believe fairytales should be believed in. If we all lived our lives like the princesses do in fairytales we would have joy, love more and be living our own happily ever after fairytale life.

I want to believe in fairytales because in a world now filled with growing uncertainty, bitterness and greed there has to be a place that can rise above it all. People don’t have to be unhappy–we were made to love each other and enjoy life at its simpliest form.

I want to believe…

Kalisha

5 Responses

  1. I believe! I believe! I loved the movie Enchanted. Glad you got to see it! One of my little girls is a “princess” like yours and she loves, loves, to dress up girly. Must be in her genes! I think playing make-believe is something every child should do. Today’s kids don’t always get enough of it. Keep believing!

  2. Thank you for your comments over at 5mins4mom – they are appreciated more than you know.

    Love in Him < Carolyn

  3. I too loved Enchanted. I rented it to watch while dh was away but after seeing it I had to show him. Then I had to show my daughter and this is three nights in a row. What a charming and beautiful film.

  4. The world is not a fairly tale place, I’d like it to be and wish it was, but it’s not. That’s the truth.

    True, I agree that one must explain everything to a child, all about love and happiness and I do (she’s a very happy baby, touch wood) but I am not sure that she is ready for all kinds of stories, even if they involve princesses. In a child’s mind, a mother is, mostly, of utmost importance, and for her to think that there is a possibility that she’s not going to be around, is a scary thought. That is my point really. That, and the fact that there is a prince some where waiting for the princess and the rest of that. Happiness does not have to be tied up with a prince charming..

    Also, to each his own. What does fairytale mean to most of us? Does it conjure up images of the princess in pink who gets the prince in the end? does it mean love and happiness, or a mix of it all?

  5. I do not talk of fairy tales to my 2 year-old. I think its not the time. While I love happy-endings and the joy and happiness and the prince sweeping you off your feet and stuff but its not the kind of things I want to talk to her yet. In my opinion, the disney fairy tales are based too much on beauty and a handsome prince as your prize. I did rather just read about kids in farms and kids monkeying around with animals and stories woven around helping, dancing, sharing & having fun in general.

Leave a Reply

