Tackle it Tuesday…Get Excited!

From the sound of my title my tackle this week may seem really simple, but I really feel like it is going to be a challenge for me at times. First I will give you the reason this tackle came about.

Since over a thousand miles separate Reneca and I from each other we usually talk on the phone at least twice a day. One of those days that we were talking on the phone, I think it might have been in the morning, Journey comes running into the kitchen. I hear her prancing little steps as she practically jumps into the kitchen to exclaim, “Mommy! She turned into a princess!” Oh! And now I remember what she was referring to–It was Saturday morning and she was watching Strawberry Shortcake that was doing a version of Cinderella. Well, she was just so happy about it–so excited. Reneca and I both laughed a little and Reneca made the comment, “When was the last time you really got excited about something?” So, excited that it made you jump up and down and shout it out for all to hear?!

Let me tell you I can’t think of the last time I have been really excited. Not to use this as an excuse, but I feel like these past couple of years has really drained me of the ability to get that excited. And each day is a little different but there are times when I just get into a funk and then there are days when I feel ok, but I haven’t gotten excited.

Another thing that makes me sad and also snaps me out of my funk for a minute is what Journey will say to me sometimes. There have been times when maybe I lose my patience too quick–she’s in time out and I really want to leave her there, but when I relieve her of her punishment she will look me in the eyes, hold my face in her tiny hands and say, “I’m sorry…make happy face.” She just wants me to smile. Do I frown that much that my two year old has to say to me, “make happy face”? Or she will persist that I make a happy face and get really excited about little things. I’m thankful for those moments because it puts everything back into perspective.

I need to make more happy faces and I really need to get excited about myself, my life and the people around me whom I love so much. Getting excited for other people’s excitement makes the excitement ten times better. It makes you make a happy face! So, that is my tackle for the week–Get Excited! and Make Happy Faces!

Besides I know the logic of a two year old will never steer me wrong. Have a great rest of the week and if you want to see what other people are tackling then head over to 5minutesformom.

Kalisha
Tackle It Tuesday Meme

6 Responses

  1. I hope you are able to have lots of happy faces this week. 🙂 Keep your chin up. It is hard to watch a loved one battle depression.

    Confessions of an Apron Queen

  2. Good for you! I think it’s truly wonderful how our children can instantly say something adorable and it snaps us out of a bad mood. I’m sorry to hear about your hubby battling depression – that’s a tough one. But it sounds like he’s doing better – I’m glad. I think “getting excited” is a WONDERFUL tackle and well worth the effort! Great work!

  3. It is very easy for someone else’s depression or negativity to bring you down. Just like it is very easy for excitement and positive energy from others to pump you up. I’m sorry that things have been so rough. This is a great tackle though. I love how excited kids get at the simple things in life and it does put things in perspective. I really believe that’s why God blesses us with children…to remind us what is really important and fun in life.

    When I was going through a tough time, I started a gratitude journal. I’d write one or two positive things that happened everyday…just little things. I hope things continue to get better for you guys and that you can find something to get jump-up-and-down excited about this week!

  4. Ah things do sound tough in your neck of the woods. A true wilderness experience….been there too. Sounds like you have no where to go but up and I hope you are heading there quickly with your sweet, happy face.

  5. What a sweet daughter you have! Making a happy face can b a very big tackle, but it sounds like you have a great helper. 🙂

  6. […] no more settling and more ice cream! Oh! and my goal from Mommy Lounge was to get excited which I have been trying more to do. It does make the ice cream taste better […]

Leave a Reply

