Generosity

As you know last week I worked on being courageous.  Well, I have lots to work on, and that’s an understatement.  Sunday, Duan, DJ and I were in an accident. We are all fine.  My neck still hurts a little but the Cadillac is totaled.  So I don’t have much of an option anymore on whether or not I’m going to be courageous.  This week lets focus on what Suze says about generosity. 

Quality 4: Generosity

Generosity is when you give the right thing to the right person at the right time — and it benefits both of you.

Generosity is a quality that most women can tap into very easily — maybe too easily. As women, we tend to be overly generous with our time, support, love, and money — but giving simply for the sake of giving does not match the definition of true generosity.

True generosity goes far beyond what you give to others. In giving there is a power, an understanding that you are just the vessel that wealth or energy flows through. You allow money to come in through your hands and out through your heart. To be empowered to give, to be moved to give straight from the heart, is a feeling that all the money in the world could never buy. So let me ask you: Is that how you feel when you constantly give of yourself? Do you feel enhanced or do you feel diminished? You think of yourself as a giver, as generous with your time, your talent, your money. Others probably describe you as a generous woman, but if I were to look at you, I might think you give for the wrong reasons. Do you give because you feel that you should? Do you give out of guilt or embarrassment? Understand that true generosity is as much about the one who gives as it is about the one who receives. If an act of generosity benefits the receiver but saps the giver, then it is not true generosity.

Check out this clip on generosity.

Much love, Reneca

3 Responses

  1. I love this message on generosity and giving for the right reasons. Makes me think and determine whether my random acts of kindness fall into that category or not.

    Saw you over on Parenting Pink. Glad I stopped by.

  2. I hope you are feeling better. I know car accidents can be quite scary, even if you are able to walk away from them.

    Love the post on generosity. I think we could all use a lesson in this and I am glad to see you are posting a different “lesson” every week.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend & rest your neck!

  3. Sorry about your accident. That’s no fun.

    I like that part about “the right thing”. I personally believe that if you are going to give a gift of any sort, then it should be something that the reciever will like. I think that generosity requires some real thought.

Leave a Reply

