Start your day off right!

Well, I’m feeling a nice fresh start from the great weekend that I had. Journey and Faith came back from their weekend with Brett’s family on Sunday late afternoon. I had two mornings to sleep in (until 9am) and two nights to stay up and party late (I crashed around 10pm)! I got a lot of cleaning done and I did sit down from time to time and watch TV and relax. I missed my girls very much, but this weekend also gave Brett and I a chance to reconnect, talk and hang out. We actually went to the movie theater and saw a movie on Saturday night. The movie, Lakeview Terrace, was alright…not as good as the previews. The movie theater much like I remembered it…, expensive, and dang-it if only those chairs reclined!

All day Sunday we relaxed around the house; I got up early because I wanted to clean and get the house in order before the girls came back. While I was cleaning out my cookbooks I realized that some of them I haven’t even looked through! Mostly because most of the cookbooks in our cabinet are Brett’s. There was one that has always caught my attention but this time I pulled it out. It is called, “Where’s Mom Now That I Need Her?” It is a surviving away from home book with lots of simple recipes and advice on how to stock your pantry, store food and even a first aid section. Well, I decided to try one of the recipes and I chose the breakfast cookie recipe. It seemed a little weird to me in writing but I decided to try it. I thought it would be a fun treat for the girls to have in the morning because they are “cookies”, but made with oatmeal, cheese and bacon! I baked them and they were really goo! I couldn’t believe it. Everyone else loved them too. I have to admit that the recipe sounds a little strange, but try it and let us know what you think!

So, I will share the recipe with you:

Breakfast Cookies

  • 1/3 c. butter or margarine
  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 1/2 c. quick cooking oatmeal
  • 1/2 c. cheese, grated
  • 5 slices of bacon crumbled

Cream butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sift together flour, baking soda, salt; stir into creamed mixture. Beat in oatmeal, cheese, and crumbled bacon. Bake on greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees F for 7-10 minutes or until lightly browned. Enjoy!

One Response

  1. Sounds like a GREAT vacation! The few times I’ve been alone in my house (and believe me, I mean FEW), I’ve hardly known what to do with myself! Can’t wait until the next time I’m in that predicament!

    Those bars sound great. Cheese? Bacon? How can you go wrong?

Leave a Reply

