Menu Plan (with lots of turkey!) Monday

Written by: Kalisha

Well, Turkey Day has made me a slacker. I really don’t know what we will eat this week besides turkey! lol Just joking…I do have a recipe to share that is a great way to use up all that extra turkey. It might be one of our dinners this week. Here it is for you to try too!

Turkey Salad

  • 2 c. cooked turkey
  • 1/2 c. chopped nuts (omit if you are allergic)
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/4 c. shredded coconut
  • 2 T. chopped onion
  • 1/4 c. chopped green pepper
  • 1/2 c. mayo
  • 1 t. lemon
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • dash of pepper
  • 1/2 head of lettuce, separated into leaves

Combine turkey, nuts, raisins, coconut, onion, green pepper; in a small bowl beat mayo, lemon juice, salt and pepper until smooth. Stir dressing into salad. Serve on lettuce leaves. Yum!

——-

This is what we had for breakfast Sunday morning. I always like trying out a new recipe–it’s always sure to be a little adventure!

Moist Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 2 c. quick cooking oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1t. baking powder
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon

Mix all ingredients; beat into thin batter. Cook on greased griddle until done. If batter is not thin enough to pour, add more milk.

Alright…from the looks of these pictures I know I have some explaining to do. But the explanation really is the point of my posting these pictures of my fabulous cooking (sarcasm). Well, I followed the instructions and when I poured the batter onto my awaiting griddle this is what happened. (See pic below) The oatmeal stayed in the middle and the batter ran!

dsc07936

As it was cooking I tried to use my spatula to push the batter into a more “pancake” like form. Each time the batter just ran–I thought maybe I should rename the oatmeal pancakes to Octopus Pancakes.

dsc07941

This is after the flip! Not too bad…still not Martha Stewart worthy in roundness or prettiness. (*tear)

dsc07945

dsc07946

I had to get creative if I wanted anyone to even touch these with their fork…so I made the girl’s pancakes into smily faces! Two raisin eyes, one mango cube nose, and an orangy smile. Meet Mr. Happy Oatmeal Pancake Man! The funny thing about this is that Journey almost had a cow when Brett cut up her pancake face (poor Daddy just trying to help). Mommy came to the rescue and re-made her pancake face and all was well in the world. Phew!

dsc07948

Journey and Daddy enjoyed Mr. Happy Oatmeal Pancake Man, yogurt, and fruit in bed! I just hope they remember these times when Mother’s Day rolls around…

dsc07949

In the end I realize that it doesn’t matter how the food turns out–it’s all about presentation. Lucky for me I could hide the ugliness of the pancake beneath a happy face.

mpm8-1

Breakfast

  • Scrambled eggs and turkey
  • Leftover oatmeal pancakes and turkey
  • Cereal with fruit and turkey
  • Egg, cheese and turkey sandwiches
  • Cinnamon Cake with fruit and turkey

Lunch

  • Turkey melts, turkey, turkey and more turkey!

Dinner

  • Turkey Salad
  • Spaghetti
  • Fried fish and steamed veggies
  • Salmon Bake
  • Pizza Night (it will probably be the end of turkey by Friday–whether it is all eaten or not!)
2 Responses

  1. LOVE your new blog design! Hope you and your families had a great Turkey Day!

    Love the pancakes – especially the service in bed! Hmmm, I need more of that around here!

  2. The turkey salad recipe sounds yummy! The only problem is that my mom has all the turkey leftovers because we celebrated the holiday at her house this year. Maybe I’ll send her the recipe so that she can try it.

Leave a Reply

