Living.

I was wracking my brain to figure out what exactly to write about today. Then I had this dream…I was standing with my cousin, Kareem, across from his childhood home. Half of it was buried in the surrounding dirt and the other part was practically in shambles. I saw a bull-dozer come and start to crush the house in the ground. We both watched then I turned towards him and saw tears in his eyes. I reached out and hugged him, tight. I asked if he was ok. He said he was mad and then I said, “I understand–don’t worry. It’s just a house. We still have each other and that is what’s important.”  While I was saying this to him we gave each other one good squeeze and then my dream meandered off into dreamland.

I read a quote the other day that has stuck with me; “There is no such thing as luck or coincidences. Things happen for a reason.”

Then early this morning after writing this post I read my meditation page for yesterday, Decemeber 1 (because I forgot!) And this is what it said,

“Actually we are slaves to the cost of living.”–Carolina Marin de Jesus

All of us have to cope with the cost of living. Existing gets more and more expensive, and living seems sometimes as if it is only for the wealthy.

We have lost track of the difference between what we want and what we need. Everything has become a need. If we don’t have what we think we need, it lower our self-esteem and our feeling of worth. We can hardly remember what is important anymore.

We are important. Our children are important. Our relationships are important. The planet is important. Our lives are important.

Lest we forget what we are all about, let’s stop today and remember.

 It was good for me to get these reminders that the only constant I can rely on is family and myself. Material needs and money don’t hold any weight with me except to pay the bills. I have learned so much this past year and my family has been through some tough times, but having this dream and reading this meditation has given me a new outlook on what is really important. We could lose it all tomorrow in a big tidal wave, but as long as we stick together (and run very fast!) everything will work out in the end. And in the end I want to live. Not just living in the general sense of heart-beating and breathing kind of living (even though that’s important too). I mean Living; just being able to just be without feeling like you have to do anything. Enjoying the miracles of ordinary life…

2 Responses

  1. A truly insightful post! I completely agree – simple is better 🙂

    Got your responses to the contest – hope you win! If not, I’ll have another one next week for ya 🙂

  2. This is a very timely post, Kalisha. We need to be reminded of this over and over, it seems.

Leave a Reply

