Passing the Purple Hat

I just received this email and just wanted to share it because it really spoke to me and I hope it speaks to you…

Earlier tonight I had just had a mini-conversation with Journey about the most important thing in our lives…family. I told her that nothing else matters except loving and being with your family. By the way I really, really, really miss my family in Colorado. I haven’t been able to see them in two years, but they are on my mind every minute of the day. If they (Grandma, Kemetria and Fam, Kariem and Fam, Aunt Michelle, Mom, and Justin) are reading this I want them to know that I love them and miss them very much! I always miss Reneca and I miss the times we could’ve had watching each other’s kids grow up, but that is one reason we started this blog together. To feel a little closer to each other. That is one good thing about technology–you can be close without being close. Still not the same as actually feeling and seeing each other. Alright–enough with the sappiness…

Well, with that I will share with you the email–I’m passing the purple hat!

getattachment
IF I HAD MY LIFE TO LIVE OVER – by Erma Bombeck 
(written after she found out she was dying from cancer). 

I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for the day. 
 
I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage. 
 
I would have talked less and listened more. 
 
I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained, or the sofa faded. 
 
I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room an d worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace. 
 
I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth. 
 
I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband. 
 
I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed.
 
I would have sat on the lawn with my grass stains. 

I would have cried and laughed less while watching television and more while watching life. 
 
I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn’t show soil, or was guaranteed to last a lifetime. 
 
Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy, I’d have cherished every moment and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was the only chance in life to assist God in a miracle. 

When my kids kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, ‘Later. Now go get washed up for dinner.’ There would have been more ‘I love you’s’ More ‘I’m sorry’s.’ 
 
But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute, look at it and really see it . . live it and never give it back. STOP SWEATING THE SMALL STUFF!!! 

Don’t worry about who doesn’t like you, who has more, or who’s doing what.   Instead, let’s cherish the relationships we have with those who do love us.

3 Responses

  1. I absolutely LOVE this poem. I’ve read it before and it provides a wonderful outline for the things we should all live for.

    Sorry you haven’t seen your family in a while. That’s tough, but at least they can read your great blog & see pics of the girls. 🙂

    Posted one of the books you recommended for Favorite Book Friday today & gave you a shout out. Thank you for the GREAT recommendations & keep them coming. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  2. My husband and I already have a New Year’s Resolution in mind–to have friends over for dinner once a week. Since having kids I realize I socialize less (except for family) and I miss spending casual time with friends. I think we just have to remember–we don’t need to thoroughly clean the house, we don’t need to cook a five star dinner, we don’t need to be dressed nice. Friends are friends, they really don’t care about that kind of stuff! Anyway, this post reminds me of our resolution because they’re both about remembering what’s really important in life.

  3. I love this. It’s been a long time since I’ve read it and I think it’s even more applicable to my life now that I have kids.

Leave a Reply

