National Work At Home Week

Did you know that this week is National Work at Home Week? Recently I partnered up with Making Work at Home Work as a blogger. Author, Speaker Mary Byer’s created this program after the release of her book, Making Work at Home Work: Successfully growing a business and a family under one roof,  to help other Work at Home Moms (WAHM) conquer some of the struggles that she herself has been through. Mary says, “I feel really privileged that I was able to write this book. I wrote it with Work at Home Moms in mind. There are so many unique challenges about working at home that only another work-at-homer can understand!” I would like to encourage you to explore their website for some great advice and some much-needed encouragement. If you would like to become a Making Work at Home Work blogger, go here.

Why are you working?

Believe it or not, there are a lot of people who don’t know why they are working. Most assume that they are working for money. But when I talk to people about the topic, I hear a lot of different reasons for work. Some work for the mental stimulation. Some to keep their skills up to date. Others work to support their scrapbooking habit or to be able to purchase cosmetics at a discount.

There’s a big difference between working to put food on the table vs. working for the “extras” such as summer camp or a vacation. Both are legitimate but it’s essential to be honest about your motivation. Knowing what drives you will help you keep your priorities in order.

Understanding why you are working makes it easier to make tough work-related decisions. Will you work on the weekends? Stay up late to get it all done? If you’re working to put food on the table, the answer will more likely be yes. But if you’re working for the fun of it, you may choose not to compromise family time by late night or weekend work. When you know why you are working, it gets easier to decide what kind of boundaries you’ll adhere to.

My biggest priority is my children and family. I have been so blessed to be able to stay-at-home and to learn to take care of my household. At times it seemed that it would be easier to just go to work than have to change diapers, smell like puke, wipe butts, diffuse tantrums and still have all meals made nutritiously and served hot! Despite all of that I really wouldn’t have traded the time I have had to nurture, laugh, and learn with my children.

If you would have asked me a few months ago if I was a WAHM or SAHM I probably would’ve said just SAHM, even though I have a  blogging job. I work blog because it’s fun to me. I enjoy reading other blogs, connecting with other Mother’s and educating and influencing other people’s lives.
My husband has given me “the talk” to make me really understand the kind of reach a Mom blogger can have and that it is a business. I have a hard time calling myself a WAHM because I don’t put work or blogging first. I don’t blog in a business suit, I don’t have a cell phone with Internet access. I am only on the computer at certain times and usually no longer than an hour or two. I write when I feel I have something to say and when the inspiration strikes me, usually during nap time.  Blogging for UV Skinz ha allowed me to really learn the blogging in an entirely different way than what Reneca and I envisioned it to be like.
It’s fun for me, but it is definitely a business. I’m on the road to acceptance. I am a WAHM, but I know that title won’t change the most precious title to me. Mommy.  I love giving my girl’s my undivided attention; playing Lego’s on the floor, dressing Barbie for the ball, or drawing silly faces with markers. It’s really amazing to have the freedom to maintain my family lifestyle, flexibility in my daily schedule and still bring home some of the bacon.

3 Responses

  1. My family is also my priority. Being able to work at home, for some moms, must be such a blessing.

  2. What a facinating blog. I’ve bookmarked it and added your feed to my RSS Reader

  3. owning a couple of blogs and websites and monetizing them with adsense or adbrite is a good way to Work at home. you can also answer paid surveys but most of them are scam sites.

Leave a Reply

